Sunday, October 26, 2014

University of Edinburgh and SCUTREA Co-hosted Event: 28 November 2014

We are delighted to be co-hosting the event 'Researching In, By and For Communities: A Conversation on Knowledge, Social Movements and Really Big Change' with Moray House School of Education. The event has been inspired by the recent referendum campaign in Scotland, which motivated many different groups and individuals to engage in debating issues affecting their lives. Thus, the event aims to build on this grassroots-level mobilisation of knowledge creation in order to debate new ways to foster community-university partnerships.

Questions to be discussed during this session include:
  1. National and international networks have arisen over the past few years in support of change, but what does it really mean?
  2. How do we find new ways to collaborate to support the really big changes that our communities, our countries and our tired planet longs for?
The guest speakers are Darlene Clover and Budd Hall.

Darlene Clover is Professor of Leadership Studies and Adult Education at the University of Victoria

Budd Hall is UNESCO Chair in Community-Based Research and Social Responsibility in Higher Education, Professor of Community Development, and Founding Director of the University of Victoria Office of Community-Based Research.

This event is FREE and will take place at Moray House School of Education, The University of Edinburgh, on 28th November 2014, 12.00-2.15pm and includes lunch.

Further details can be downloaded from the following web link, which includes the programme:

We look forward to seeing you there!

Monday, October 13, 2014

New Council Officers Announced

On Thursday 9th October at the Council meeting in Leeds, new Council Officers were welcomed and the hand over process from retiring officers began.  With all posts except our Honorary Secretary changing this time, retiring Officers have agreed to offer advice during the rest of this year to ensure a smooth handover. 

Linda Morrice, Ann-Marie Houghton, Christine Jarvis
and Sarah Galloway

Thanks to officers stepping down, Ann-Marie Houghton (Honorary Chair), Linda Morrice (Honorary Treasurer) and Christine Jarvis (Membership Secretary) and her colleague Sarah Leah who has been very supportive behind the scenes.  

Sarah Galloway, Kate Murray, Ellen Boeren
and Nalita James

Welcome to our new officers Ellen Boeren (Honorary Chair), Nalita James (Honorary Treasurer), Kate Miller (Membership Secretary), who join Gillian Cowell (Communications Secretary), Barbara Merrill (Studies representative) and Sarah Galloway (Honorary Secretary)
Over the coming days we'll be posting introductions and further details about research interests and plans from all our new officers (including Gillian who featured as our guest Tweeter earlier in the year) as well as further details of the 2015 Conference.