Saturday, October 20, 2018

SCUTREA Conference 2019: Call for Abstracts (EXTENDED DEADLINE)

Adult Education 100: Reflections & Reconstructions (EXTENDED DEADLINE Monday 18th February 2019)

This conference is an opportunity for adult educators and scholars to join a global reflection on what the field has achieved across the world over the past century, on where we are now, and on how adult education should be "reconstructed" for the century ahead.

We invite proposals for papers and symposia that focus on theory, research, practice and policy in adult education and lifelong learning. We particularly encourage proposals that do so within the approaches and traditions advocated by the 1919 Adult Education Report, or engage critically with its legacies.

Extended deadline for submission of abstracts: Monday 18th February 2019.

Proposals should be submitted as Word documents to:

The Call for Abstracts can be found at the following link.

Monday, October 8, 2018

SCUTREA awards 2018

Tilda Gaskell Award for the Best Student Paper. The prize is a certificate and the return of the conference fees (but not travel costs). It is named after Tilda Gaskell who was an adult educator who was a regular attendee and won a SCUTREA award as a student. 
This year the prize goes to Beverly Hayward PhD student from Birkbeck for her paper” An exploration into the subject positionings of the female learning support assistant in post compulsory education, as they practice their art and craft”.

Ian Martin Award for the paper that makes the most significant contribution to social justice.  The prize is a certificate and £100 cheque.  It is named after, and judged by, Ian Martin (Honorary Research Fellow of the University of Edinburgh) 
This year the prize goes to: Christine Jarvis, Jane Wormald, Cheryl Reynolds, Amanda Aspland for their paper “Beginning with Hope: Widening Participation, Belonging and Relationship Building”

David Jones Award is for the best paper with a creative arts and/or international/comparative perspective.  This reflects the research interests of the late David Jones, a former secretary and chair of SCUTREA.
This year the prize goes to: Darlene Clover and Sarah Williamson for their paper “Seeing Beyond Belief: The Feminist Museum Hack as a Practice of Hope”

The 2018 award winners