SCUTREA has four annual awards:
Conference Paper Awards

Tilda Gaskell Award for the Best Student Paper. The prize is a certificate and the return of the conference fees (but not travel costs). It is named after Tilda Gaskell who was an adult educator who was a regular attendee and won a SCUTREA award as a student. 

Ian Martin presenting award to André Grace 2010

Ian Martin Award for the paper that makes the most significant contribution to social justice.  The prize is a certificate and £100 cheque.  It is named after, and judged by Ian Martin (Honorary Research Fellow of the University of Edinburgh) 

David Jones Award is for the best paper with a creative arts and/or international/comparative perspective.  This reflects the research interests of the late David Jones, a former secretary and chair of SCUTREA.

When submitting your paper please indicate if you wish to be considered for this award. The officers have the discretion to make the award to a paper that has been included in the conference without the author(s) indicating that they wish their paper to be considered. 

Research Award 

Michael Stephens Award For this award, applicants must submit a research proposal with a maximum claim for £500 which can be used for a proposed research project. It is unlikely to pay for the full costs of the research project, but could make the difference between the project going ahead or failing to materialise. 

Applications need to be with the Chair of SCUTREA by 1st April in any year. A condition of the award is that a paper based on the completed research is expected to be delivered at a subsequent SCUTREA Conference. The successful applicant will additionally receive the costs of the full conference and accommodation fees from SCUTREA, though the award holder will be responsible for meeting their own travel costs.